Menstruation as a nonbinary individual

Discussions related to nonbinary experiences, identity and expression. 'On topic' discussions that don't fit anywhere else.

Menstruation as a nonbinary individual

Postby Z.y » Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:55 pm

Hey there.

I am a non-binary artist, exploring ideas of gender within my work.
I am currently focusing on the issue of feeling at odds with ones body, particularly when it comes to menstruation.
I was born female but I recently began identify as non-binary. It's taken me years to realize that I have never ever felt like I was a woman, and to also realize that it didn't necessarily mean I had to transition or identify as being male. I 100% okay with my body externally.... But when it comes to my period and my reproductive organs, I hate everything that goes with it, the moodiness, cramps and messiness. Every month it's an ordeal that sends me into anxiety attacks, depression and misery. I see it as a monthly reminder that some aspects of my gender will never be under my control... Some family members will always call me a girl, some people will always tell me that if I have female genitalia then I AM female. While I accept that I will never be able to control others actions and opinions it is infinitely harder when you feel that your own body is betraying you (a feeling that many of you can probably identify with). The way I dress, act and talk are all within my ability to use as an expression for who I truly feel myself to be. My period is the one thing that ties me down to a gender that I do not want, something that makes me feel less of who I really am, and a monthly reminder that I do not feel comfortable with who the world always told me to be.

I understand that a period does not necessarily equate to being female, or even have to be identified as feminine thing, but for me personally and psychologically that is what it represent and what I wish most is that I could stop it without drugs or operations.